Between the Lines

Yes, this is written by Jodi Picoult and her daughter, Samantha Van Leer. Let’s get that out of the way. If you were Ms. Picoult and your daughter wanted to give up free time to write up a unique story idea, wouldn’t you use your clout to get it done? Besides, the voice and plot is decidedly not Picoult.

There are two perspectives: Delilah, in green sans serif font, is a modern teenager obsessed with an old rare fairytale. Oliver is the prince between the pages,who wants a life beyond the book. He’s in a classic blue serif type. The fairy tale that enables Delilah and Oliver to meet is in standard black.

True love, being trapped in your own life and rewriting your story are themes throughout Between the Lines. It’s a fun, modern fairy tale that gives everyone a happy ending.

About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in Teen/Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Between the Lines

  1. A.M.B. says:

    I had high hopes for this one, but it fell flat for me (I explain it in my blog post on Sept. 20th if you’re interested). It felt only marginally updated from the days of the Brothers Grimm, and the switch that takes place made me queasy. Also, it was marketed as Young Adult, but it felt better suited for an even younger “tween” audience. I agree that the voice is very different from Picoult’s, and I do look forward to seeing what else Van Leer writes in the future. This work shows promise, even if it’s not perfect.

    • What I liked best about this story was the concept: falling into a storybook and in love with its protagonist at the same time.

      • A.M.B. says:

        Yes, the book has its good points, and I agree that it was an interesting concept. However, I disliked how much Delilah was willing to risk for a one-dimensional boy she barely knew. Perhaps that’s what it feels like to be that young, but it’s not a message I want reinforced through books for my young daughters (not that I would prevent them from reading it). I prefer stronger female characters.

Leave a Reply

