One For The Murphys

Determining who really loves you can be a hard task for anyone, especially a foster kid. Carley’s not sure of her own mother’s love–would she really choose her husband over her  only daughter? Living with the Murphys upends Carley’s notion of a family and changes her hopes for the future.

Lynda Mullaly Hunt has written a good book with short, well-named chapters (“If You’re Going to Lie to Yourself, Be Convincing” and “When You Care Enough to Send the Very Worst”) and a heart-warming character. I’m passing this one on to my daughters.

About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in Children's novels, social issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One For The Murphys

  1. Thanks so much for this review–very much appreciated!

  2. I have this one on my to-read list. Glad to hear you liked it!

    • My twelve-year old did too. She was at the library looking for more by Lynda Mullaly Hunt, and was disappointed to find out this was her first book. We’re waiting for more, Lynda!

    • Hi Jennifer. I tried to comment on your latest post, but blogger won’t let me. Anyway, I wanted you to know your latest review is on my to read list as I love Polly Horvath. Looking forward to it!

  3. One For The Murphys was chosen as a Global Read Aloud book (http://lyndamullalyhunt.wordpress.com). Congratulations, Lynda!

Leave a Reply

