Bertolt

I love this sweetly strange book about being different, being a loner and loving a 55-year-old oak. Bertolt by Jacques Goldstein (translated from the French by Claudia Zoe Bedrick)ea0ab6317e62eda078f1323992db91b5-w204@1x is lovely and though the storyline meanders a bit, I love the paths it took me down, the little bits of nature and the feeling of being in a tree during a storm. I know, I know–that’s dangerous! you say. I, for one, have always wanted to clutch the top branches of an oak while it sways under heavy winds, and when I saw this spread in Bertolt, I felt the exhilaration as if I did it myself. When Bertolt dies, the boy is unsure because “with a tree, it’s hard to tell. A tree just stands there like a huge, boney creature that’s sleeping or playing a trick on us.” Rather than being sad, the story is thoughtful and the ending warm and fitting.

About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in Books with science links, Canadian author/illustrator, Picture books, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

