The Birchbark House

When I was a child, I read The Little House books, mostly because many raved about how birchbark-house-largegood they were. My sister’s read them. I got through them all. Louise Erdrich has outdone them, though, with The Birchbark Housethe story of Omakayas, an Ojibwa girl, as she lives out a year of taking care of her baby brother, befriending a crow and nursing her family through smallpox. We also find out what it was that allowed Omakayas immunity to small pox, a lovely secret hinted at in the beginning and fully explained late in the book. Set in the 1840s, this story is a must-read, and first in a series.

About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in Books with social studies links, Children's novels, historical, strong characters and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Birchbark House

  1. theroommom says:

    I did not know there were sequels to this book! So excited.

  2. theroommom says:

    I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award. My blog post today has all the details. I love your recommendations! Caitlin

  3. Emily Kilgore says:

    Happy to see this recommendation! It is one of my favorite books we’ve read this fall.

Leave a Reply

