The Fault In Our Stars

It’s always nice when a book that is so talked about actually surprises you with its goodness. The Fault In Our Stars is indeed a very good book, and although its characters are either cancer survivors or cancer sufferers, cancer remains on the back burner while the beautiful love story pushes out to centre stage. Listen: ” ‘I am in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.’ ” (Augustus to Hazel Grace, p. 153)

FC9780525478812Now I know I may have scared some of you off by saying this is a love story, but it is. It’s not romance, as in the genre of romance, but there is a little romance in it (the dinner scene in Amsterdam for example) and it’s all wholly unexpected, not forced but beautiful.

So before you see the movie, read the book by John Green.

About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in Teen/Young Adult, Uncategorized, Voice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Fault In Our Stars

  1. Jim says:

    Don’t want to be too critical, but there are two spelling errors in your quote. “Ant” & “een” 😊

  2. Evan says:

    A simply beautiful and elegant review for a simply beautiful and elegant book. The Fault in Our Stars is a story full of love, life and laughter. I couldn’t agree more, read before watching!

Leave a Reply

