I Feel Better With a Frog In My Throat: History’s Strangest Cures

feelbetterCarlyn Beccia‘s nonfiction look at the strangest cures used throughout history is presented in a child-friendly format that encourages children to predict which cures had scientific merit.

Try it out yourself: Did any of these cures help for sore throats? A.  A frog down the throat, B.  A necklace made from earthworms, C.  A dirty sock tied around the neck.

Turn the page and find out the history of where these cures were used, why people thought they might work and if the cures really worked. Equally perfect for those who revel in the gross cures of the past and those who love history, I Feel Better With a Frog In My Throat is an interactive read aloud.

About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in Nonfiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Feel Better With a Frog In My Throat: History’s Strangest Cures

  1. A.M.B. says:

    That sounds very interesting! I’d be afraid my kids would actually try some of those remedies!

Leave a Reply

