Waiting for the Magic

Okay, here’s a book recommended to me by my nine-year-old. I admit, I didn’t expect to like it. The cover didn’t draw me in, but the first paragraph, and then the first chapter and then the next chapter filled me with the warm glow of a really good book.

Waiting for the Magic by Patricia MacLachlan and illustrated by Amy June Bates is about family, the magic of pets, and yes, talking animals. Not everyone can hear their comments and the book’s anticipation lies in who will hear them next. Filled with great voices for read-alouds, it’s also a book that despite its large font, will appeal to many ages. Listen:

“My friend Max thought it was very exciting. Not that my father was gone, but that Mama had brought home four dogs and a cat.

‘No one’s mother ever does that! Ever!’ said Max, staring at Mama admiringly.

‘She may be insane,’ I told Max.

‘I don’t thing so,’ whispered Max very seriously.”

William’s dad left, and when he returns, William’s not sure he wants him back. The dogs’ wisdom, however, knits the family back together in order to embrace the magic of life.

Unfortunately the cat doesn’t talk much.

About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in Chapter Books, Character-driven, Love that prose, Power of pets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Waiting for the Magic

  1. jenberger75 says:

    I’m going to have to check this book out. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Julie says:

    How nice it is when your child can recommend a book to you and you end up liking it! It makes me feel like the universe is ordering itself for the future. 🙂

  3. playfulpups says:

    Great review! As a book lover AND an animal lover, I definitely will be checking it out~ Thanks!

  4. Pingback: The Iridescence of Birds: A Book About Henri Matisse | An Education in Books Blog

Leave a Reply

