Toys Come Home

The full title is Toys Come Home: Being the Early Experiences of an Intelligent Stingray, a Brave Buffalo, and a Brand-New Someone Called Plastic, and the book is most worthy of such a lengthy subtitle.  The third in Emily Jenkins’ chapter book series is a prequel to Toys Go Out and Toy Dance Party, but I believe Toys Come Home is best read after the others, which were written first.

In Toys Come Home, we find out how Stingray, Buffalo and Plastic came to live in the Girl’s home, who came first, and why Stingray knows so much (or at least talks like she does).  Most importantly, we learn the answer to Plastic’s joyfully incessant question, “Why are we here?”  The answer, my friends, can only be answered by joining anxious Lumphy the Buffalo, bouncy Plastic and Stingray with the chorus of towels in the linen closet.

I read this whole series aloud to my youngest, and by this last book, the older ones were creeping closer and closer to hear the story.  I’d like to think it’s my mastery of Lumphy’s voice, but more likely it was the gorgeous prose of Emily Jenkins.

Illustrations by Paul O. Zelinsky match the story perfectly.

About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in Chapter Books, Series, strong characters, Voice, Word choice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Toys Come Home

  1. suzy73 says:

    I just had to say, I love the way you describe this book! I can tell that you really enjoyed it and I can almost hear you reading it with such enthusiasm!! Will you come to my house and read it to us? I’m checking them out of the library this week.

  2. If only you lived next door!

  3. This sounds like a great book. I will have to check it out!

  4. music says:

    Fantastic post.

Leave a Reply

