Everett Anderson’s Goodbye

The dedication page says “for my sad friends.”  This beautiful classic book by Lucille Clifton and illustrated by Ann Grifalconi fully serves those children who are grieving the loss of someone near and dear.  Everett Anderson goes through the the five stages of grief in simple child-like contemplation, modeling the painful feelings of losing a father.

For more discussion ideas and activities with children on grief, look here.


About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in Books with social studies links, Love that art, Picture books, social issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s