King Bidgood’s in the Bathtub

When King Bidgood takes a bath, he wants to do everything–battle, lunch, masquerade ball–in the tub, and no one can get him out.  This lyrical, rollicking tale is full of ingenious negotiations with the king and rich imagery.  List the onomatopoeia words, then brainstorm new ones.  What would you be doing to make a sound like that?  Use the new words to come up with a new verse to the story, filling in the blanks below.

“Help! Help!” cried the Page when the _______________.

“King Bidgood’s in the bathtub, and he won’t get out!  Oh who knows what to do?”

“I do!” cried the _______ when the _________________.

“Get out!  It’s time to _____________.”

“Come in!” cried the King, with a ______, ______, ______.

“Today we _______ in the tub!”

Audrey and Don Wood have a great website full of behind the scenes tidbits.

 

About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in Love that art, Love that prose, Picture books, Word choice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to King Bidgood’s in the Bathtub

  1. Jim B says:

    I agree this is a great story. It is one of my favorites to read to the kids. Actually, I think I might like it more than they do. I wish I could have gone fishing in my bathtub.
    Keep up the great posts!

  2. I’m not so sure about fishing in the tub. What if you catch something unintended?

    Thanks for the comment!

  3. Julie says:

    We love this book, so I’ll have my kids try this activity. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

