Hello world!

My sister wanted recommendations on children’s books and I thought about it for a long while.  There are enough book review blogs out there, but what about a place where parents, teachers and anyone else interested in children’s literature could read my take on kids’ books?  And while I fully believe stories can and should be enjoyed for just the story, the teacher in me wants to stretch every book.

I’ve taught grade one, grade four through six special education, and resource room.  I’ve programmed and taught before-school literacy camp and summer school.  I’m parenting three children.  I couldn’t do any of these things well without books.  This blog is about the very best of those books.

I think the entire education of a person can be done with literature.

I haven’t developed that curriculum yet.  In the meantime, check out my favourites. These are not full-blown reviews, but rather annotated bibliographies of children’s literature that can be used as starting points for education.

One more thing:  children’s books, good children’s books, are not just for kids.  They are good reads for all ages.

So while we educate the children in our lives, join me in reading these great books that will enhance everyone along the way.

About aneducationinbooks

sharing my favourite must-read children's books for kids, teachers and parents
This entry was posted in About this blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

